Gordon E. Moore Medal


The Society of Chemical Industry (SCI America) has established the SCI America Gordon E. Moore Medal as the premier recognition for early career success in innovation, as reflected both in market impact and improvement to the quality of life.  By highlighting extraordinary individuals and their work, the Society aims to promote public understanding of research and development in the modern chemical industries, enhance the interest of students in applied chemistry by providing role models, and emphasize the role of creative research in the global economy.

Gordon Moore webslideBased on the concept that the award name should draw attention to young innovators and connect with to the established Perkin Medal, the SCI America Executive Committee named the award for Gordon E. Moore, co-founder of Intel and a seminal figure in the establishment and development of the semiconductor industry.  Mr. Moore has often described Intel as a chemical company.  As a research chemist and then director of R&D, Gordon Moore carried out pioneering work on silicon transistors, the integrated circuit, semiconductor computer memory, and the microprocessor, while well under the age of 45.

2021 Gordon E. Moore Medal Winner: Carla Pereira, PhD

Dr. Pereira is a section head at ExxonMobil Research and Engineering Company, where her work includes researching and developing new solvent technology for use in the gas industry. She led a team that collaborated with BASF to create OASE® sulfexx™, a highly energy efficient gas treating technology. This technology is critical for energy efficient production of natural gas and clean fuels that meet increasingly strict clean air regulations on sulfur emissions from processing facilities.

Dr. Pereira received her PhD in chemical and biological engineering from the Faculty of Engineering at the University of Porto in 2009 and served as a postdoctoral researcher and associate researcher at the university. She joined ExxonMobil Research and Engineering in 2014 as a senior researcher and became section head of process intensification in 2018.

In 2012, she received the PSE Model-Based Innovation Prize for her co-authored paper on a new technology application for green solvent and biofuel production. Dr. Pereira co-authored the book Simulated Moving Bed Technology, Principles, Design and Process Applications in 2015 and has published 34 journal articles. She holds 5 granted patents.

Past Gordon E. Moore Medalists

Gordon E. Moore Medal Award Rules