Innovation Day

About Innovation Day

This year’s Innovation Day will be held Tuesday, September 12, 2023 at the Science History Institute in Philadelphia, with a concurrent virtual component.

Member companies may send groups of their most promising young researchers to this event which exposes them to topics on the frontiers of today’s chemical research. Plenary sessions and a series of interactive discussion groups address currently relevant subjects. The event also gives attendees plenty of time for informal interaction and networking with their peers from other companies. First held in 2004, the program is organized by the Innovation Day Steering Committee, an advisory group of SCI member chief technology officers, who help organize and moderate discussion groups. The Gordon E Moore medal is presented at lunch on Innovation Day.

2023 Innovation Day Format

The Innovation Day Steering Committee has built an amazing agenda for this year’s meeting. We open with a poster session and networking, followed by the annual Schlinger Symposium with an address from the SCI 2023 Gordon E. Moore Medalist (TBA). Next, panel experts offer stimulating presentations and discussions on topics that explore biomaterials and bioprocessing, life cycle analysis, and plastics recycling. Cocktails and networking close out the event. Most of the events and sessions will have an online component for those unable to attend in person.

Innovation Day Steering Committee

Gregory Briner

NA R&D Technology Manager

Hexion, Inc.

Robert Butterick

Northeast Dow Center Site Leader

Dow Inc.

Duncan Coffey

Information and Data Science Leader – Science & Innovation


Robert Harding

Senior Technology Advisor

W. R. Grace & Co.

Jeff Carbeck

Vice President, Corporate Innovation

Eastman Chemical Company

Robert Li

Product Innovation Research Manager

Felicia Parks

Technical Director, North America


Deidre L. Sandrock

Director of Sustainability and Innovation

Milliken & Co.

Elizabeth I. Ross-Medgaarden

Sr. Manager, Acetyls and Basic & Fundamental R&D

Houston Technology Center
Lyondell Chemical Company

Christopher Simpson

Head of Application Technology NORAM Business Unit Polymer Additives

LANXESS Corporation

Innovation Day Sponsors 2022

We are grateful to The Warren and Katharine Schlinger Foundation
and our member companies whose support makes Innovation Day possible.

Premier Sponsor

The Warren and Katharine Schlinger Foundation

Presenting Sponsor

Eastman Chemical Company
ExxonMobil Chemical Company
Hexion, Inc.

Sustaining Sponsors

BASF Corporation
Chevron Phillips Chemical Co. LP
Covestro LLC
The Dow Chemical Company
Univar Solutions
W. R. Grace & Company

Contributing Sponsors

Air Liquide NA
Arkema Inc
Milliken & Company

Past Innovation Days